SLO

Welcome!

In our exuberant amounts of free time (you know, between our 10 hour study sessions and 5 minute meals), we aim to post weekly updates tracking our lives as medical students at Loma Linda University School of Medicine (LLUSM). Besides the personal benefits of jotting down wonderful memories, maintaining perspectives on life, and staying sane, we hope this site will also benefit you by giving you a taste of medical school.

Follow this blog if you are an aspiring physician, undecided about your career, interested in learning about the medical process, wanting to relive or see what’s changed since your good old days, and/or simply intrigued by the unknown in this world.

Janna, B. S. in Communication Public Relations/Journalism, hopeful M.D.

Anthony, B.S. in Chemistry, emphasis in Biochemisty, hopeful M.D.

*Disclaimer:  Any views or opinions presented in this blog are solely those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent those of LLUSM or Pacific Union College (PUC).  Any questions, comments, or concerns should be directed towards medschoolsurvival@gmail.com

…oh, and for those who may not have realized it, SLO means Student Learning Outcomes.  Y’know, cause this is the purpose.  And the blog’s about med school.  Get it?  It’s funny, right?  right?

Ah, never mind. Just read the blog.

3 thoughts on “SLO

  1. I find your blog as a huge blessing and I wish you two the best of luck and skill and knowledge during these important years! I have a serious burden on my heart and due to your inside connection to understanding LLU applicants by the colleagues who made it with you, I would appreciate your opinion.

    I am in a Early Medical School Selection Program (EMSSP) here in Boston but recently decided that I don’t see myself studying to become a doctor at any other school that isn’t Loma Linda. Their missions deference program has me hooked and the more I realize I want to be trained in an environment where lifestyle and beliefs are coherent with the kind of doctor I want to become, the more I want to be an LLU alumni.

    Now, I am SDA. I have EC’s that range from TA-ing physiology and general biology, tutoring for ochem, working at an adventist disabilities camp, clinical hours doing different rotations from my high school and shadowing hours from a dr who is doing my LOR, mentorship programs, pathfinders co director, sabbath school teacher and writer for the CQ lesson study and a year of research under my belt. I have a deep passion for mission work, the 4 mission trips I have gone on since high school have deeply impacted my desire to serve. My GPA is roughly 3.9-4.0.

    But because I was studying for my MCAT in the mindset of making the mere 25 for EMSSP, thats what I got. 8/8/9 -25T. I would truly appreciate some kind of evaluation of my chances at being accepted into LLU. Is it a long shot or should I just retake my MCAT?

    Feel free to reply via email: fpence.rdz@gmail.com

  2. And the reason I ask with a bit of urgency is because if an honest opinion will tell me my chances are slim to none, I will not submit my AMCAS for this cycle and retest for next year.

  3. Thanks for reading our blog. We’re glad it’s a blessing and a help to others.

    We’ve talked to several of our classmates about your particular situation, and there’s definitely some pros and cons to each side. On one hand, Loma Linda’s a great school and a great place to get your education in a Christian environment. On the other hand, since it sounds like you’ve applied and have been accepted in EMSSP, it’s always risky to abandon one program with no guarantee at another program. We’re not too sure on the details of EMSSP, but if allowed, we’d recommend calling Loma Linda at 909 558 4467 for more information on admissions.

    In terms of overall application process, a higher MCAT score never hurts. As I’m sure you’re already aware, the average science GPA fluctuates from 3.7-3.9 and the average MCAT is close to 31. However, Loma Linda shows preference to Adventists (since it is a private institution) which wouldn’t hurt your cause.

    Ultimately, even if you are unable to attend Loma Linda University Medical School, training in the residency program is still an option.

    Please let us know if you have any other questions. 

Leave a Reply

